Almond Butter!!

I woke this morning and thought “Brownies!”. Weird though it was, my youngest was waking me up before 6 am (and that’s extremely odd considering she usually sleeps till 8) and felt I was hungry. I had some zucchini in my fridge and had heard of zucchini brownies being super yummy. So I looked up a recipe. Wait, how come I am writing about waking up thinking of delicious zucchini brownies when this is supposed to be about almond butter?! Well, the recipe I found called for a cup of almond butter. And I had maybe a tablespoon worth left. So… I had to make some almond butter. There really was no way around it.

When someone finds out I make my own almond butter, my most common response is “Wow, how do you do it?”. Well, it is easier than you think.

All you need is a food processor, some almonds, and a spoon. And the whole process only takes about 15 minutes.

How much almonds you ask? Well, this morning I did about 1.25 pounds, which proved to be a bit much for my food processor. (Definitely took longer than 15 minutes.) So, I reckon somewhere around 12 oz would work great. (I don’t usually measure. Haha.)

So, dump your almonds in the food processor and whiz it up. You’ll find after a while the ground almonds start climbing up the sides. Just pop off the lid and scrape it down.

Oh gosh 037

After a while it will start clumping together instead of being dry dust. Yay! A while longer you may find it rolls up into a ball and just rolls in circles. This is actually good. Not much longer now!

Oh gosh 042 Oh gosh 043

And voila! Once it goes smooth you are done! Makes a fabulous substitute for peanut butter in snacks. My favorite way to eat it is with sliced apples or with a banana. Maybe just on a spoon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh gosh 044

You can add flavors to your almond butter if desired. You could add cinnamon, honey, cocoa… Have fun! My girls greatly enjoyed some I made with honey and cocoa, though it made the texture a bit firmer. Makes a great add in to smoothies. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, you can make lots of nut butters using this same method! Peanut butter is super easy (my girls made some the other day! Of course, I put the machine together and all they did was push the button and watch). It seriously takes about 3 minutes. I haven’t done cashew butter but I imagine it would be super easy like peanut butter.

So, I made the brownies. Currently baking in the oven.

What’s your favorite way to eat nut butter?

Hey there! Join the Conversation!

