Paleo Zucchini Brownies

Girls n brownie goodness 004

You ever wake up in the morning desiring to eat something that would be a sinful dessert, let alone breakfast? Well, that was me this morning. While I’m not Paleo, I do find I enjoy playing around with paleo recipes. I like the feeling I’m getting more nutrition out of it than the usual fare. Today I woke thinking about brownies, so I made some Paleo Zucchini Brownies. I found a recipe on DelightedMomma.com. I adapted it some, here is what I came up with…

1 cup of almond butter
1 ½ cup of grated zucchini. (I just chopped and whizzed them through my food processor.) I used 2 small summer zucchini. Being roughly chopped came to about 1 1/2 cup. I was concerned about it not being enough once it was whizzed down to a paste so I added and extra 1/4 cup applesauce.
1/3 cup raw honey
1 egg (or flax egg)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
3 tbs cocoa
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg

*optional: 1 cup chocolate chips. I actually used roughly ½ cup and it was sufficient. Even sprinkled some on top. I’m sure walnuts would work great too.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease 9×9 pan (I actually used a loaf pan ‘cuz I discovered I loaned my 9×9 out.) I whizzed everything in a food processor (except the chocolate chips). Added the chips, mixed quick, and poured into the pan. I topped with a sprinkle of chocolate chips. Bake for 35-45 minutes.

And here is the chocolatey goodness! You can’t even tell there is zucchini in it, in texture, appearance or flavor. Yay! Came out velvety fudgy. I think if I did it in the 9×9 it would have the more chewier texture I prefer.

Girls n brownie goodness 001

 

It sunk in the middle because I tried taking it out too early. 😛 Toothpick test doesn’t work for this.

Girls n brownie goodness 002

 

Girls n brownie goodness 018

 

Kid approved!

Girls n brownie goodness 004

 

Just had to add this in again. Was totally scrumptiously divine with some homemade coconut butter drizzled on top!

How do you like your brownies?

Hey there! Join the Conversation!

