German Pancakes

In my house growing up, the weekday breakfast usually consisted of cold cereal or oatmeal. On the weekends, I loved to actually make breakfast. Usually pancakes or waffles, often with eggs and sometimes even bacon. Once in a while I would do something a bit different: I once made strawberry shortcakes as a surprise for my parents. But a regular family favorite has always been German Pancakes.

I am not sure where this recipe first originated. It is an old family recipe that has been passed down on my mom’s side. Instead of being cooked on the stove like regular pancakes, the whole batch of batter is baked in the oven. The fun part is that when it’s done it puffs up like a mountain range. This simple breakfast can be ready within 30 minutes, with minimal effort.

German Pancakes Recipe

4-6 Tbs Butter* (for dairy free I’ve used coconut butter)

1 Cup Milk (for dairy free I’ve used Almond Milk)

1 Cup Flour (for gluten free use 1 cup all purpose gluten free mix  –  I generally use about 1 cup almond flour, 1 cup brown rice flour, ¼ cup coconut flour, and ¼ cup tapioca starch for my mix). I have used just rice flour with success but the flavor profile is a tad different.

6 eggs

½ tsp salt

*Use 6 tbs if using a 13×9 pan. For my round cast-iron I find 4 tbs to be sufficient.

Preheat oven to 375 F. Put your butter in your pan (13×9 or cast-iron, mine measures about 10.5 inches). Melt in the preheated oven. While the butter melts, put the rest of the ingredients in the blender and blend till smooth. Don’t overdo it because it can cause the pancake to come out rubbery.

Once the butter is melted, gently pour the batter into the pan. If you just dump it, the butter will be pushed away and the end product will stick. Place in the oven and bake for about 25 minutes. To serve, top with syrup. It’s also delicious with a dollop of greek yogurt, fresh berries, and a light drizzle of honey.

This serves about 4-6 people; or 2 very hungry, or even 8 unhungry people. So, um… you be the judge. In my teen years, we often did a double batch, making two 13×9 pans. We are a family of 7 and my brother had an endless pit of a stomach.

Coconut Goodness 152

This is fresh out of the oven. As it cools it shrinks down a bit. I just realized I neglected taking a picture of a slice with syrup… guess I was too  hungry.

What is your favorite breakfast?

Coming soon… berry filled apples.

4 thoughts on “German Pancakes

  1. Inga says:

    This looks and sounds a lot like Yorkshire Pudding – except the latter is baked in the roast drippings and therefore savory but the concept is the same.

    • Usually roast beef (in England) but my family love it so much we eat it with all roasts.

      Never seen anyone here (in Germany) make it though… The nearest would be Kaiserschmarrn, but I think that’s made in a frying pan. Afterwards it’s ripped into bits, sprinkled with currants and icing sugar and eaten with apple sauce. Tastes good too 🙂

Hey there! Join the Conversation!

