Coconut flour Chocolate Chip Cookies!

So, I’ve been on a bit of a gluten free kick lately. I have some friends who eat gluten free and have asked me to give them some good recipes. Making gluten free baked goods can be tricky. There are so many flours to choose from with different levels of absorbency. There are nut flours, bean flours, tapioca and potato starches, not to mention many gluten free mixes include xantham gum. For more on making your own gluten free flour mix visit: Gluten Free Girl http://glutenfreegirl.com/2012/07/how-to-make-a-gluten-free-all-purpose-flour-mix/; Celiac Association http://www.csaceliacs.info/gluten_free_flour_formulas.jsp; Your Homebased Mom http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/gluten-free-flour-mix/. Be aware, if using oat flour you must make sure the oats are labeled gluten free. Many oats are processed in plants that also process wheat and so may contain gluten.

I broke down and bought some coconut flour (Let’s Do Organic, the green bag) in order to compare my own homemade flour. It had a couple of recipes on the bag, so I thought I’d give them a try. While I wasn’t crazy about the brownie recipe (came out too cake-y for my liking… I like it dense and chewy!) the chocolate chip cookie recipe was wonderful! Fresh from the oven they were just like the gluten packed version. Nice and crisp on the outside, soft in the middle. This cookie came out thin, I wanted it to be a bit thicker, but otherwise perfect. 😉  Especially with a glass of milk!

Here’s the recipe:

3/4 cup + 2 tbs brown rice flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup butter or non-dairy alternative (I used coconut oil, yum!)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 egg or equivalent substitute

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup chocolate chips

3/4 cup nuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Cream the butter and sugars till fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Mix your dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add to the butter mixture until smooth. Add in chocolate and nuts (if using). I wanted my cookies to be thick and my batter was soft enough I knew they would spread everywhere. Therefore into the freezer the bowl went. For about 10 minutes. It had thickened nicely. Give it a quick stir. Drop by teaspoon onto greased cookie sheets. Space about 2 inches apart. Bake 8-12 minutes, or until the edges start to brown. Remove from the oven and cool at least 2 minutes before moving them from the pan.

Ready for some pics?

Image

 

They really went flat. Glad I put it in the freezer… I shudder to think what it would have been. One giant cookie. Anyway, I think maybe if I had done 2 scoops instead of one and added extra space they might have come out thicker.

Image

 

Image

 

Look at that chewy, melty goodness! And see, delicious with milk! Even almond milk is wonderful too.

How do you like your chocolate chip cookie?

What is your favorite cookie?

Enjoy!

Hey there! Join the Conversation!

